Official name: Republic of Mauritius

Mauritius Map OutlineCapital: Port Louis
Total Area: 2,040 km2
Approximate population: 1,262,000
Location: Indian Ocean, off Eastern Madagascar coast
Languages: English, French, Hindi, Creole, Bhojpuri
Religions: Roman Catholic, Sunni Muslim, Hindu
Currency: Mauritius Rupee
Organizations: United Nations, Commonwealth of Nations, Southern African Development Community
Maritime boundaries: Indian Ocean