Official name: Republic of Benin

Benin Map OutlineCapital: Porto-Novo
Total Area: 112,620 km2
Approximate population: 8,791,800
Location: Wesern Africa
Languages: French, Fon, Yoruba, Adja, other local languages
Religions: Sunni Muslim, Roman Catholic, other traditional beliefs
Currency: CFA Franc
Organizations: United Nations
World's 100th largest country
Maritime boundaries: Atlantic Ocean
Borders: Burkina Faso, Niger, Nigeria, Togo

Interesting facts:
- There are over 40 different ethnic groups and 51 languages spoken in the country.
- Most Haitians trace their ancestry to Benin.
- Benin's capital Porto-Novo, is also known as "the city with three names" (Porto-Novo, Hogbonou, and Adjatche).