Official name: People's Democratic Republic of Algeria

Algeria Map Outline
Capital: Algiers
Total Area: 2,381,741 km2
Approximate population: 45,912,477
Location: Northwestern Africa
Languages: Arabic, French, Berber
Religions: Sunni Muslim
Currency: Algerian Dinar
Organizations: United Nations, African Union, Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries
World's 11th largest country
Maritime boundaries: Mediterranean Sea
Borders: Libya, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Niger, Tunisia

Interesting facts:
- Algeria is the tenth largest country in the world, the first in Africa, the Arab world and the Mediterranean, and the second in the Islamic world after the Republic of Kazakhstan.
- 70% of lawyers and 60% of judges are women. 60% of university students are women. In many families, women are contributing more to the household income than men.
- 30% of the population is under the age of 15.